If you avoid gluten in food why wouldn’t you avoid it in toothpaste, which actually goes in your mouth! Fortunately, there are many gluten free toothpaste options available.
According to Colgate, “Gluten free toothpastes can offer the same cleansing effect as regular toothpaste, due in part to the same active ingredients, including xylitol, baking soda and calcium phosphate. Xylitol helps prevent cavities and promotes the flow of saliva, particularly benefiting those with dry mouth. Baking soda neutralizes harmful acids and helps to remove surface stains. Calcium phosphate can help with tartar control, as it is a gentle abrasive that can help remineralize certain areas of your teeth. Other ingredients no less present in gluten free products include water, sorbitol, fluoride, cellulose gum and natural flavorings such as peppermint oil.”
Gluten Free Toothpaste
Arm & Hammer
Arm & Hammer verifies that its toothpaste products are gluten-free.
All Biotene products are gluten free and sugar free.
Colgate certifies all Colgate Total toothpastes do not contain gluten.
All Desert Essence products are gluten free.
All Jason products are gluten free.
Only the Baby and Toddler toothpaste and stages kids toothpaste are gluten free according to their site.
Tanner’s Tasty Paste
Gluten Free and sugar free.
Tom’s of Maine
All of the products manufactured by Tom’s of Maine, including all toothpastes and oral care products, are gluten free according to their website.
Toothpaste That May Not Be Safe
While the below toothpastes don’t include gluten as an ingredient, they could be produced on shared equipment and contain trace amounts of gluten. If you have Celiac Disease, I would not recommend using the below toothpastes.
According to the company, “Aquafresh toothpastes do not contain gluten as a direct ingredient. However, the presence of trace levels of gluten in these products for manufacturing processes cannot be excluded.”
Crest’s website states, “No current Crest toothpaste contains gluten,” but that doesn’t confirm there aren’t trace amounts of gluten from raw materials or their manufacturing equipment.
The company states, “We can confirm that Sensodyne® products do not contain gluten as a direct ingredient. However, we cannot exclude the presence of trace amounts of gluten in these products as a result of third party manufacturing process because GSK Consumer Healthcare does not test the final products for gluten.”