Whether by personal choice, or doctor’s orders, starting to live a gluten free lifestyle can be overwhelming! First, let’s break down what exactly Celiac Disease is as well as non-celiac gluten-intolerance.
What is Celiac Disease & Non-Celiac Gluten Intolerance?
According to the Celiac Disease Foundation, “Celiac disease is a serious autoimmune disorder that can occur in genetically predisposed people where the ingestion of gluten leads to damage in the small intestine. It is estimated to affect 1 in 100 people worldwide. Two and one-half million Americans are undiagnosed and are at risk for long-term health complications.” When starting a gluten free lifestyle, it is imperative that those with Celiac Disease are very strict with their diet and mindful about cross contamination ,and the ingredients of the products they are using.
Those with non-celiac gluten intolerance experience symptoms similar to those with celiac disease, which resolve when gluten is removed from their diet.
Now that we’ve learned about celiac disease and non-celiac gluten intolerance, follow the below steps to start living your gluten free lifestyle!
Steps to Start Living a Gluten Free Lifestyle
1) Learn what Gluten is!
Gluten is a general name for the proteins found in wheat, rye, and barley. It helps foods maintain their shape, acting as a glue that holds food together. Gluten can be found in many types of food, beauty products, alcoholic beverages, and prescription medication. (Read more about products that surprisingly contain gluten).
Anything you are putting into or onto your body, read ingredient labels very carefully. Even if the product doesn’t contain gluten, it could be processed in a facility that has cross contamination.
Naturally Gluten Free Food:
- Beans, seeds and nuts in their natural, unprocessed form
- Fresh eggs
- Fresh meats, fish and poultry (not breaded, batter-coated or marinated)
- Fruits and vegetables
- Most dairy products
- If they are not processed or mixed with gluten-containing grains, additives or preservatives many grains and starches can be part of a gluten-free diet, such as:
- Corn and cornmeal
- Gluten-free flours (rice, soy, corn, potato, bean)
- Hominy (corn)
Food to Avoid
- Barley (malt, malt flavoring and malt vinegar)
- Durum flour
- Graham flour
Avoid the following unless they’re labeled as gluten-free or made with corn, rice, soy or other gluten-free grain:
- Cakes and pies
- Communion wafers
- Cookies and crackers
- French fries
- Imitation meat or seafood
- Processed luncheon meats
- Salad dressings
- Sauces, including soy sauce
- Seasoned rice mixes
- Seasoned snack foods, such as potato and tortilla chips
- Self-basting poultry
- Soups and soup bases
- Vegetables in sauce
- Certain grains, such as oats, can be contaminated with wheat during growing and processing stages of production.
- Food additives, such as malt flavoring, modified food starch and others
- Medications and vitamins that use gluten as a binding agent
- Beauty products, lotions, sun screens.
2) Clean Out Your Kitchen
If you will be sharing a kitchen with those who are not gluten free, it is important to set ground rules to reduce cross contamination. Move all of the gluten containing ingredients, utensils, and cookware to one side of the kitchen.
- Throw out your kitchen sponge or have a sponge dedicated to being gluten free and check that your dish soap is gluten free. (Read more about Gluten Free Household Items)
- Replace wooden cutting boards, wooden spoons, plastic bowls and utensils, silicone spatulas, rolling pins, colander, and non-stick pans and muffin tins.
- Buy a new toaster. You will not be able to designate one side of an existing toaster for gluten-free bread and remain uncontaminated. Several companies make heavy-duty, reusable bags that can allow you to toast your gluten-free bread safely in a toaster also used for gluten bread while traveling or in a pinch.
- Get rid of gluten products or segregate them to one part of the kitchen. Be careful handling gluten ingredients like flour to avoid cross contamination.
- Purchase new condiments to avoid cross contamination
- Check the ingredients on spices, snacks, and beverages
- Clean your oven, sink, drying mat, and refrigerator to remove gluten particles
3) Evaluate Skin/Beauty/Hair Care Product labels
Did you know that lip balms, hand wash, hand creams, makeup, and skin care products could contain gluten? Everything that you put on you skin has the potential to enter your bloodstream, due to accidental ingestion. With the number of cosmetics and beauty products that we use every day, even the smallest amount of gluten can cause a reaction.
Review labels of all products for gluten and hidden wheat ingredient names like Triticum Vulgare (wheat), Hordeum Vulgare (barley), Avena Sativa (oatmeal), and Vitamin E (sometimes derived from a wheat germ).
If you are still unsure, you can use SkinSafe.com to search for the product and it’s gluten status.
4) Go Grocery Shopping
It’s important to do your research and go in with a plan before heading to the grocery store so you don’t get overwhelmed.
- Learn how to save money grocery shopping
- Plan out your meals for the week
- Make a list
- Don’t get distracted looking at all of the gluten free options before researching them!
Try shopping at different grocery stores to see what you like better and what store has the most gluten free options in your area.
5) Join a Gluten Free Online Support Group
- Gluten Free – Celiac Disease Support Group
- Gluten + Dairy Free Living | Recipe Sharing + Support